Skip to content

Search and Rescue Alberta is an Association of Associations (a team of teams!). Currently, there are two types of memberships for teams to join the organization, regular members and associate members.

Regular members must be a registered charitable organization in good standing that has been voted into Search and Rescue Alberta during an Annual General Meeting. These members are allowed to vote at meetings, bring representatives forward to sit on regional and provincial boards and committees, and will be eligible for insurance, among other benefits. There is a $150 fee for regular members.

Associate members are organizations that support the organization in principle and are often key stakeholders and partners, including government organizations, police, and related search and rescue disciplines. Associate members are not allowed to vote at meetings and do not pay the annual membership fee.

If you are a group of people looking to apply to become a new member team of Search and Rescue Alberta, please complete the application here:

If you are an individual looking to join a current team, please see Become a SAR Responder.

SAR Alberta Member Teams

Northwest Region

  • Whitecourt Search & Rescue Society
  • Grande Cache Search & Rescue
  • Greenview Search & Rescue Association
  • Technical Search & Rescue
  • Lesser Slave Lake Search & Rescue
  • Peace Region Search and Rescue

Northeast Region

  • St. Paul Search & Rescue Society
  • Bonnyville Search & Rescue Society
  • Cold Lake Search & Rescue
  • Calling Lake Search & Rescue
  • Little Divide Search & Rescue (Lac La Biche)
  • Fort McMurray Search & Rescue Society

North Central Region

  • Canadian Search Dog Association (CSDA)
  • Search & Rescue Dog Assoc. of Alberta (SARDAA)
  • Brazeau Regional Search & Rescue Society (BRSAR)
  • Hinton Search & Rescue Association
  • Edmonton Regional Search & Rescue Association (ERSARA)
  • Parkland Search & Rescue Society (PSAR)
  • Klondike Trail Search & Rescue Assoc. (Barrhead) (KTSAR)

Central Region

  • Central Zone Search & Rescue (CZSAR)
  • Red Deer County Search and Rescue
  • Mountain View Search & Rescue
  • Sundre Search & Rescue Society
  • Rocky Mountain House Volunteer Search & Rescue Society
  • Wetaskiwin Search & Rescue (WSAR)

South Central Region

  • Foothills Search & Rescue (FSAR)
  • Alberta/British Columbia Cave Rescue
  • Calgary Search & Rescue Association (CALSARA)
  • Cochrane Search & Rescue (CSAR)
  • Badlands Search & Rescue (BSAR)

South Region

  • Southwest Alberta Regional Search and Rescue Society (SARSAR)
  • South Eastern Alberta Search and Rescue (SEASAR)
  • Lethbridge Area Search & Rescue (LASARA)

Associate Members

  • Lethbridge Police Service
  • Calgary Fire Department
  • Jasper National Park
  • Waterton Lakes National Park
  • Calgary Police Service
  • Mountain Safety Program (Banff)
  • Edmonton Police Service
  • Pincher Creek Community Emergency Management Agency
  • Kananaskis Country Public Safety Program
  • Lake Louise/Yoho/Kootenay National Parks
  • Elk Island National Park
  • Wood Buffalo National Park
  • Civil Air Search & Rescue Assoc.